Using Social Media for Great Customer Service

by

Last Saturday, I took my family to a Binghamton Senators hockey game. While my wife took our two year old to the restroom, I was posting an update on the game via Twitter on my iPhone and saw that the team, who I follow, was posting in-game updates, too.

Just to see what would happen, I replied to the B-Sens’ post asking if they could send Maximus (the giant bear mascot) to Section 3, Row J, Seat 12, because it would make my son’s week.

Effective Social Media creates a fan for life....

Lo and behold, about 15 minutes later, a team staffer with a headset and Maximus popped out of the concourse, walked up to our seats, and my son went crazy with excitement.

Every day since, he’s asked us to go to another hockey game. And we’re happily going to oblige many times this season because it was such a fun experience and they proved how much they care about their fans.

Social media isn’t just something you do for the sake of doing it. When used properly, it can be a powerful customer service tool that builds brand loyalty and directly generates sales. Just ask my son.

Leave a Reply

